

American College of Neuropsychopharmacology



PRESIDENT David A. Lewis, M.D.

PRESIDENT-ELECT Peter W. Kalivas, Ph.D.

PAST PRESIDENTS John H. Krystal, M.D. (2012) Eric J. Nestler, M.D., Ph.D. (2011)

SECRETARY Alan Frazer, Ph.D.

TREASURER David J. Kupfer, M.D.

COUNCIL. Karen F. Berman, M.D. (11-13)

John G. Csernansky, M.D. (11-13)

Linda S. Brady, Ph.D (12-14)

Ronald S. Duman, Ph.D. (12-14)

Suzanne N. Haber, Ph.D. (13-15)

Robert C. Malenka, M.D., Ph.D. (13-15)

Ronnie D. Wilkins, Ed.D. Executive Director

ACNP EXECUTIVE OFFICE 5034A Thoroughbred Lane Brentwood, TN 37027 Tel; (615) 324-2360 Fax; (615) 523-1715 acnp@acnp.org www.acnp.org

2013 ACNP Media Award

- 1. The ACNP Media Award was established to recognize major contributions to the education of the public about mental illness and substance abuse research and the positive impact of research on treatment. The award is intended to be an expression of appreciation from the College toward outstanding public education leaders who provide complete, accurate, and unbiased information to our society about brain diseases. The honoree may be a member of the print or electronic media, an advocacy organization or a public education initiative that promotes increased awareness of brain research and the impact it has on people's lives. The award recipient will attend the ACNP Annual Meeting and interact with its members and guests, further developing his/her own knowledge of the field and expanding his/her network of expert contacts.
- 2. The Media Award consists of an expense paid trip to the ACNP Annual Meeting in Hollywood, Florida, December 8-12, 2013 and a plaque to be presented at the ACNP Annual Meeting during the President's Plenary. The Award winner must attend the Annual Meeting.
- 3. Any individual may submit a nomination for the ACNP Media Award by submitting to the Awards Committee:
 - a. A nominating statement no longer than three pages in length that describes the contributions made by the candidate or group.
 - b. No more than three examples of the person's or group's work (articles, CDs, DVDs, books, etc.) as supporting material. *See note below for submission instructions.
 - c. Be sure to include the exact name, title, and contact information of the nominee or group.
- 4. Individuals who have received the ACNP Media Award are:

2002 Ellen Levine, Editor in Chief, Good Housekeeping Magazine

2003 Tim McCann, Exile Productions

2004 Michelle Trudeau, NPR Science Correspondent, Childhood Bipolar Disorder (NPR)

2005 Marianne Szegedy-Maszak, Contributing Writer, US World News & Report

2006 Bill Lichtenstein, Lichtenstein Creative Media

2007 John Hoffman & Susan Froemke, HBO Series, Addiction

2008 P. Michael Conn & James Parker, Authors, *The Animal Research War*

2009 Brian Shanahan, CEO Medispin

2011 Hakon Heimer, Executive Editor, Schizophrenia Research Forum

2012 Maia Szalavitz, Freelance Reporter, *Time Magazine*

*CDs, DVDs, books, etc. should be mailed to the ACNP Executive Office: 5034A Thoroughbred Lane, Brentwood, Tennessee, 37027 USA

Nominations must be submitted on-line: http://www.acnp.org/programs/awards.aspx